Photo

Possible To Activate 'paypal Account Optional' Via Api?

credit card api paypal account optional

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 kleinermann

kleinermann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 August 2015 - 09:16 AM

Hi there,

I'm new to the Paypal API, and i'm trying to work out an issue i have with our shopping cart. I'd like to prevent people from paying with credit card through Paypal, so I have deactivated the 'PayPal Account Optional' feature in the Paypal account settings. But for some reason this shows no effect in the shopping cart checkout. When being redirected to the Paypal page for processing the payment, a customer can still choose to either pay with credit card or via Paypal.

Does the Paypal API offer an option to change the 'PayPal Account Optional' setting during checkout, and overwrite the default setting in the Paypal account? If yes, where would i find more information about this option? If no, does someone have another idea why changing this setting does not have any effect?

Thanks for any help!

#2 paypaldev

paypaldev

Administrator

• Administrators
  • 29 posts

Posted 11 August 2015 - 12:46 PM

Setting PayPal account optional does not prevent a user from paying with a credit card as the funding source.

Paymetrics.com - Sales Alanytics and Metrics for PayPal.

#3 kleinermann

kleinermann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 11 August 2015 - 02:33 PM

Thanks for the feedback.

I deactivated the 'PayPal Account Optional' setting on another shopping cart and it removed the credit card payment option on the Paypal payment page. So i'm not sure what you mean when you say "Setting PayPal account optional does not prevent a user from paying with a credit card as the funding source."

How would i then prevent users from being able to pay with credit card?

Thanks!

#4 kleinermann

kleinermann

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 August 2015 - 06:47 AM