3 replies to this topic

#1 ScottSpence

ScottSpence

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 01:59 PM

Hi Everyone,

I have spoke to Paypal technical support about this about 2 weeks ago and they said they would contact me with a solution, but they have not. (perhaps they are busy getting single item multiple currencies to work *grin*).

We went through the permissions, Tech support suggested that I had my transaction file (processed_txns) and .htaccess as 777 (rwxrwxrwx) - I doubt that this is right and have made sure they are 666 (rw-rw-rw-) The following is the email I sent to them, any suggestions appreciated.

I am an experienced web developer and have many scripts working on my site. For some reason there is no error message in my logs and the emails I get do not suggest there is any error. The whole process seems to work but no username/password pairs are entered into the file. I tried making the files (htpasswd and txns) chmod 777 but this did not help - there are no file permission problems that I can see. I get no http errors by running the script from my browser other than the email.

I am using version paypal.pl 1.2 on linux Debian with perl, v5.6.1 built for i386-linux. I seem to have all the modules installed.

Do you have any suggestions?

Cheers

Scott

http://www.crazycolour.com

#2 paypal_pb

paypal_pb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • 2,960 posts

Posted 23 October 2002 - 02:49 PM

paypal.pl modifes .htpasswd, not .htaccess. The script is designed to send an email if it is unable to update the .htpasswd or processed_txns files. If you are not getting these emails then it could be:

1) Internal Server Error (is paypal.pl 775? does the script run from the command line without error?)
2) wrong path to sendmail
3) $ADMIN_EMAIL set to wrong email address
4) wrong .htpasswd file is getting modified