ASP probs- redirect?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest(old)

Guest(old)

• Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 25 November 2002 - 08:08 AM

Hi, everyone. Sorry to bother you, this may be easy, but I have lost a week in dev trying to solve it. Customer is buying a generated report, a series of pages off a lead .asp page, populated with session vars. Everything works until I get to paypal. Based on the information I recieve in the IPN, I want to present 1) the proper lead/review pages, 2) a pending HTML to wait, or 3) a sorry-but-you-failed page. Redirects (the simplest for me, by far), don't work. I am only a moderate ASP programmer and know nothing about cgi. Now what? I appreciate the help!! George

#2 DaveC

DaveC

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 25 November 2002 - 09:33 AM

The IPN is a backend page to verify the trqnsaction from paypal. You cannot redirect from this page, as it will send a 300 reply to paypal, therefore breaking the IPN as paypal are looking for a 200 reply.

The real only way you can do it (there are two ways, but one needs trust)
1. In the IPN, send an email with the URL that you want the customer to go to.
2. (The trust one) give the URL in the normal thank you screen at the end of the transaction.

Dave.

Web development - http://www.revilloc.com

#3 Guest(old)

Guest(old)

• Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 25 November 2002 - 10:17 AM

Thanks for the reply, Dave. But I must be missing something. In the URL oriented one, where I tell PayPal to return the successful sale as a thank you page, are you saying the IPN has happened, and my end has responded, and now they go to the thank you page? And, of course, if it does not work, will paypal send it to the cancel URL in the IPN code? I guess I need to know how to get them to those URLs. Are those the same as the PayPal button original submissions? Thanks again. Wish I was a lot stronger in this stuff... George

#4 DaveC

DaveC