4 replies to this topic

#1 Darren

Darren

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 01 November 2002 - 06:37 PM

Warning: I am new to paypal processing

After reading much of the material available on single, basket and IPN based transactions I have a few concerns/questions.

It is my understanding customer X does a POST to paypal from the web site of merchant Y. The form data in that post came from merchant Y's website as described in countless examples. Customer X then logs into paypal and initates a payment for the goods/services. Merchant Y then receives an IPN call regarding the transaction.

1. What is preventing Customer X from spoofing a POST call to paypal for the goods/services, but with significantly lower prices? say $1 for a $300 item?

2. When paypal sends the IPN call to merchant Y, that seems to be the opportunity to validate the transaction. Assuming the merchant validates the transaction how does it tell paypal something is wrong? Every example provided, or talked about seems to imply that paypal is the *only* authority on validating a transaction. It seems logical that customer X, Paypal and merchant Y, all need to validate the transaction before it becomes "valid"... correct? How is this suppose to work?

3. How many times does paypal attempt IPN and if multiple times, how much time inbetween?

4. What happens if paypal never completes the IPN call? Servers occationally go down, and in the off chance a would-be buyer posts just as the merchants server goes offline... how does the process handle that situation?

As mentioned, I am new to paypal so forgive my ignorance on the subject. Perhaps I overlooked a document or two.

• Mymnrumourf, xxkalliy and Phenembency like this

#2 Darren

Darren

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 02 November 2002 - 12:41 PM

Thanks for the reply Shannon.