password management

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest(old)

Guest(old)

• Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 15 November 2002 - 12:36 PM

I have several membership sites where I would like to use PayPal as an alternate payment option in conjuction with CCBill, my previous credit card management company. I have installed the paypal.pl script, directing it to the .htpasswd file used by CCBill. When I do a trial sign-up through Paypal, I get a user/password but it is never added to the .htpasswd file and therefore does not work. I am no expert at installing perl scripts but have installed several and have checked the paths, permissions, etc. on this script and have not found any errors. What could be the problem?

Dan

#2 paypal_pb

paypal_pb

Advanced Member

• Members
  • 2,960 posts

Posted 15 November 2002 - 12:57 PM

At this point the script may be having an Internal Server Error. Are you able to execute it at the command line (i.e., "home/cgi-bin>> perl paypal.pl")? Does it throw an error or request options?

If it is working properly, then it should send you an email if it is POSTed to but unable to update .htpasswd file.

Patrick Breitenbach
PayPal, Inc.
Dev Net: https://www.paypal.com/pdn

#3 Guest(old)

Guest(old)

• Members
  • 312 posts

Posted 16 November 2002 - 09:06 AM

I am having the exact same problem.

My paypal.pl script will ask for parameters when I run it from the command line. And I do get emails sent to me from paypal notifying me of errors -with all the fields blank
User Information
Subscriber's Username:
Subscriber's Email:
Subscription Number:
Transaction Type:

I am somewhat new to unix but have been programming for a long time. I am sure I am following what directions there are in putting this all together, but as I said - I have the same results as Dan.

So, with my
.htpasswd working manually,
with permissions set to 777 for processed_txns
and 644 for paypal.pl,
and with PAYPAL creating passwords